Tuesday, February 3, 2009

Love, Marriage, and Stinking Thinking TV Debut


Love, Marriage and Stinking Thinking Premieres on TBN and Sky Angel this February

In his brand new television series, Love, Marriage and Stinking Thinking, marriage expert Mark Gungor exposes the true source of marriage problems—the flawed notions that shape our expectations of marriage and our spouses. Beginning in February the show airs on Trinity Broadcasting Network 9:30 PM PST/12:30 AM EST Thursday nights and airs twice a week on Sky Angel on Tuesday and Thursdays at 4:00 PM PST/7:00 PM EST.

In March, the program will begin airing on Cornerstone TV on Mondays at 6:30 PM PST/9:30 PM EST and on Wednesdays at 12:30 PM PST/3:30 PM EST.

In today’s cultural landscape, the broken home is quickly becoming the rule rather than the exception. Though there is no shortage of pop psychologists urging men to “get in touch with their feelings” and women to “spice up their lovemaking,” the efforts of marriage therapists have barely made a dent in the rising divorce rate. The reason for this, Gungor claims, is that popular thinking focuses on the symptoms of marriage problems rather than addressing the root cause.

Mark Gungor is a pastor, author and one of the most highly sought speakers on marriage and family in the country today. Each year thousands of couples attend his Laugh Your Way to a Better Marriage seminars that have inspired a bestselling DVD series and the book with the same title. “We created this show with several purposes in mind,” Gungor states. “The first, obviously, is to share the truth about why marriages fail—and how we can keep that from happening. We live in such an over-romanticized culture. By the time people get married, their ideas of what marriage should be like bear little resemblance to reality. As a pastor, I see this all the time. This show is about busting the most common myths—the stinking thinking—that people believe and replacing them with the truths that can save a marriage.”

This show offers viewers an all-around entertaining, uplifting, good time with sensational blues recording artist Jimmie Bratcher leading the show’s house band. An opening monologue by Gungor sets up a myth-busting topic for the day. Segments showcase the remarkable insight and charmingly witty delivery that have made Gungor’s seminars so irresistible to couples—particularly to men.

Gungor is joined by actress and co-host Nancy Stafford, who engages him in a lively discussion from a woman’s perspective. Stafford’s impressive credentials include a five-year stint as Andy Griffith’s law partner on Matlock, three years on the Emmy-winning St. Elsewhere, and appearances on Judging Amy and ER. Stafford is a published author who has been married for nearly twenty years to a California pastor.

Examples of the “stinking thinking” Gungor and Stafford dismantle include:
· It’s impossible to make women happy
· It’s important to find your soul mate
· Whatever you do, don’t marry too young
· He shouldn't be so interested in sex
· If you’re unhappy, divorce the bum
· If he really loved me, he’d know what I want

The program will begin airing soon on additional networks. Viewers will be hooked from the first monologue and intrigued with Gungor and Stafford’s pithy interaction as they laugh their way to a better marriage. For more information and a listing of stations/times for airing visit http://www.lovemarriageandstinkingthinking.com/.

No comments: