Wednesday, May 15, 2013

A cat... on a mission from God?



Welcome to the blog tour for Jim Kraus’ latest novel, The Cat That God Sent (Abingdon Press). Readers are sure to enjoy Jim’s follow up release to The Dog That Talked to God (nominated for a CBA Book of the Year Award).
CatGodSentCover

{MORE ABOUT THE CAT THAT GOD SENT}


Meet Petey, your not-so-average cat—on a mission from God
Disillusioned young pastor, Jake Wilkerson, has just arrived at his new assignment in the small rural church of Coudersport, Pennsylvania. Also new on the scene is Petey, a cat of unknown origins and breed—but of great perception.
As Jake sets about doing the business of ministry, Petey’s continued interference brings chaos to the community of curiously off and eccentric people—residents like the faith-avoiding veterinarian Sally Grainger and Tassy, a young runaway with a secret. An expert at hiding his fears, Jake wonders if all this—and the cat to boot—is more than he can handle. What is Petey’s real “mission”? Perhaps something larger than Jake—or even Petey—can possibly know.
Be sure to check out Jim’s The Dog That Talked to God which was nominated as an ECPA book of the Year (2013).DogTalkedToGod
Publishers Weekly said, “Judge this book by its cover… and be charmed.” 
“The Dog That Talked to God is a moving and powerful read, inspirational long after the last page has been turned.” – New York Journal of Books
“Jim Kraus has written a funny, heartfelt novel in the tradition of Garth Stein and John Grogan. For a long time dogs have been man’s best friend. It only made sense one would finally come along to save our souls.”— Rob Stennett author, Homemade Haunting and The Almost True Story Of Ryan Fisher
“I loved this story. Quirky and unusual, this unique tale wove a spell around me and drew me in. It wasn’t what I expected at all, and when I turned the last page, it left me wanting more.” — Ane Mulligan, senior editor Novel Rocket
“Anyone who has loved a pet knows the sense of connection, of deep familiarity and acceptance, and even of a possible spiritual awareness. In The Dog That Talked to God, Jim Kraus offers a hard-to-put down story of Rufus, a miniature schnauzer who make a giant difference… Kraus has created an enjoyable and often hilarious read. Highly recommended.” — Congregational Libraries Today

MORE ABOUT THE BOOK:


Recently widowed Mary Fassler buys a Miniature Schnauzer, Rufus, and her world is turned sideways in the midst of her grief.  It seems that Rufus speaks. And not just to her. He also talks to God. When Rufus begins sharing advice that could result in major changes, Mary gets the feeling the pooch might not be steering her in the right direction. Or, is she just afraid to take the leap and discover something she desperately needs? Only Rufus…and God…knows.

{MORE ABOUT JIM KRAUS}

Jim KrausJim Kraus grew up in Western Pennsylvania and has spent the last twenty years as a vice president of a major Christian publishing house. He has written more than twenty books and novels, including the best-selling The Dog That Talked to God. He and his family live outside of Chicago with a sweet miniature Schnauzer and an ill-tempered Siberian cat named (of course) Petey.

Find out more about Jim at www.jimkraus.com.

No comments: