Sarah Sundin thrills readers with a WWII tale of romance

Seeing Yourself as God Sees You
Author Sarah Sundin thrills readers with
a WWII tale of romance and forgiveness

Combining a flair for romance with exceptional research and attention to detail, Sarah Sundin vividly brings to life the perilous challenges of World War II aviation and nursing in her latest release. With Every Letter (Revell, September 1, 2012, ISBN 978-0800720810, $14.99) launches Sundin’s new Wings of the Nightingale series in which three WWII flight nurses will discover friendship, love, and peril in the skies and on the shores of the Mediterranean.

In With Every Letter, readers meet Lt. Mellie Blake who is looking forward to her training as a flight nurse. What she’s not as enthusiastic about is writing a letter to a man she’s never met as a part of a morale-building program, even if it is anonymous. The recipient of Mellie’s letters is Lt. Tom MacGilliver, an officer stationed in North Africa. Tom welcomes the idea of anonymous correspondence, especially since he’s been trying to escape his infamous name and family history for years.

With every letter written back and forth across the Atlantic, Tom and Mellie get to know one another and develop a unique friendship despite not knowing the other’s true identity. Each has always felt uncomfortable in his/her own skin, but the letters allow them to shed some of their insecurities. However, when both are transferred to Algeria, the two are poised to meet face-to-face for the first time. Will they overcome their fears and reveal who they are, or will their future be held hostage by their pasts?

In addition to the war raging around them, both Tom and Mellie face the inward battle of learning to see themselves as God sees them and grow into the people God wants them to be. Mellie has always seen herself as merciful as she cares for the sick and wounded, but the brutal events surrounding her stretch her understanding of mercy. Both Tom and Mellie also learn new depths of the true meaning of forgiveness.

With the Wings of the Nightingale Series, Sundin is able to uniquely combine her affinity for the WWII era with her medical knowledge and training as a pharmacist. “Although medications have changed significantly in the past seventy years, the basic concepts remain,” explains Sundin. When asked about what draws her to writing about this particular period of time, she shares, “Not only do I love the clothes, uniforms, and music, but there’s an inexhaustible supply of dramatic stories and settings—a novelist’s dream. This was a time when ordinary men had to do extraordinary things, and when women explored non-traditional roles—while remaining ladies. As a pharmacy resident at a VA hospital, I had the honor of caring for many World War II veterans. As a rule, they were cheerful, kind, and chivalrous, with the solid strength of someone who has been tested—and passed. What more could you want in a hero?”

The book launch promotion for With Every Letter will include a Kindle Fire social media giveaway. Readers and fans will also be able to join Sundin in a live chat on Facebook on September 27. During the Facebook party, prizes will include copies of With Every Letter, Mellie’s First Aid Kits made from vintage fabrics and loaded with Starbucks Via Coffee, and gift certificates. Watch Sarah Sundin’s Facebook page for more details. 

For more information about Sarah Sundin’s books and the events her stories are based on, visit

Advance Praise

“I love the nostalgia and drama of the WWII era. No one takes me back there better than Sarah Sundin. With Every Letter is a beautiful love story and has everything you want in a novel: romance, suspense, and characters you care about from the very first page. A marvelous beginning for her new series. I can’t wait to read the next book.”
~ Dan Walsh, award-winning and bestselling author of The Discovery

(4 ½ Stars) Sundin skillfully uses an alternating point of view between Mellie and Tom, and pulls readers into their lives. The themes of anonymity and growing love linking the two makes this story a romantic read.”
            ~ RT Book Reviews

“Historical romance specialist Sundin opens another WWII-era series with a well-researched and absorbing tale of two Army specialists whose pen-pal relationship becomes a lifeline… WWII-era fans won’t be able to put it down.”
            ~ Publishers Weekly

About the Author

Sarah Sundin is the author of the Wings of Glory series (A Distant Melody, A Memory Between Us, and Blue Skies Tomorrow). In 2011, A Memory Between Us was a finalist in the Inspirational Reader’s Choice Awards, and Sarah received the Writer of the Year Award at the Mount Hermon Christian Writers Conference. Her latest release, With Every Letter, is the first in the new Wings of Nightingale series.

A graduate of UC San Francisco School of Pharmacy, she works on-call as a hospital pharmacist. During WWII, her grandfather served as a pharmacist’s mate (medic) in the Navy and her great-uncle flew with the US Eighth Air Force in England. Sarah lives in California with her husband and three children.

Learn more about Sarah Sundin and her books at She also invites readers to become a fan on Facebook and follow her on Twitter.

Sarah Sundin is available for interviews to promote the release of With Every Letter. To request a review copy, schedule an interview or for more information, please contact Audra Jennings,