Colleen Coble leads her readers on a search for significance

A Heart that Yearns for More

What do I have to offer this world? Can I really be loved for who I am on the outside and not for how others view me? Where does my true significance come from? In her third installment of the Mercy Falls series, The Lightkeeper’s Ball, award-winning author Colleen Coble will answer these questions while leading her readers down a path of betrayal, desire and ultimate fulfillment.

The Mercy Falls series centers on a small town in California and its lighthouse. Coble uses the lighthouse as a reminder that Jesus is our lighthouse always leading us home. In her latest addition to the series, the main characters must wrestle with their desire to find fulfillment in more than their work and money while being hunted by those who are holding on to resentment and unforgiveness.

Olivia Stewart’s family is one of the Four Hundred—the highest echelon of society in 1910. Living in New York with her mother, Olivia is twenty-five and unmarried, and her mother is threatening an arranged marriage if she does not pick a suitable match soon. But Olivia wants someone who will love her for more than her name.

Her sister Eleanor has headed to the Wild West of California to meet and marry Harrison Bennett. Harrison is the son of er late father’s business partner, Claude. Olivia’s father had specified in his will that the Bennett and Stewart families be joined in order for his family to receive half of the rights to the Bennetts’ diamond mine.

But when Claude Bennett arrives in New York to inform Mrs. Stewart and Olivia that Eleanor has drowned, everything changes. Now Olivia must marry Harrison, or her family will be left with no income. But Olivia is not convinced that her sister’s death was an accident. So she heads to Mercy Falls, California, under her formal title, Lady Devonworth, in order to seek the truth and to hide her identity from Harrison. But the truth she finds may not be what she expected.

Harrison Bennett is full of dreams. His father insists he run their business, and his mother tells him that he should not waste the gift God has given him. But all Harrison really wants to do is build and fly aeroplanes. And it doesn’t help any that his fiancĂ© drowned and now the nosy Lady Devonworth keeps asking him questions about something so private and hurtful. Yet there seems to be something more than skin deep with her, and he would like to discover what it is.

Can Olivia and Harrison both find the meaning in life that they desire? In her last novel in the Mercy Falls series, Coble does not disappoint. With murder, suspense and desire, readers will enjoy peeling back the layers and discovering that this is more than your average romance novel. They will be perched on the edge of their seats trying to solve the mystery of Eleanor’s death while discovering that the true worth of an individual never comes from a name or accomplishments. True worth can only be found in Christ.

The Lightkeeper’s Ball by Colleen Coble
Thomas Nelson/April 19, 2011
ISBN: 978-1-5955-4268-7/304 pages/paperback/$14.99

For review copy and interview information, contact:
Audra Jennings - 800-927-0517 x104